A Celebration of the Centenary of the Cenotaph in Thrybergh
This year, Thrybergh Parish Council will mark the 100 years of the Cenotaph now outside the Parish Hall but previously located adjacent to Silverwood Colliery.
The memorial was originally constructed and erected adjacent to the Silverwood Colliery to commemorate the 312 local miners who were killed in the First World War. It was commissioned by Dalton Main Colliery Ltd and officially unveiled on the 15th December 1923 by the Lord Bishop of Sheffield. Over 400 people paraded from the Colliery to the original site located on a cliff edge near to the old Silverwood quarry. Four bugle players of the 5th Battalion of the York and Lancaster Regiment played at the ceremony as well as the Silverwood Colliery band. The memorial is believed to be unique as its designed by local architect Lieutenant Colonel J.E. Knight.to represent a miner’s lamp.
In 1989 It was relocated to its present location which took 18 months to complete in time for Armistice Day in 1990. This was no small operation as the stone base is 8 foot by 7 foot and the column 15 foot of rough Cornish stone.
To mark the auspicious occasion Thrybergh Parish Council will be holding a special event on Friday 15th December 2023.
At 7:30pm there will be a dedication at the Cenotaph led by Revd. Helen Terry of St Leonard’s Church and Fr. Des Sexton of St Gerards Church with music from Maltby Brass Band followed by a celebration sing-a-long led by the local Lost Chord team. Light refreshments will be available and the bar will be open for the purchase of alcoholic beverages.
Please come along to celebrate this momentous day for our area as we are truly standing on the shoulders of giants as the Cenotaph reminds us of all those who gave everything for their country.